Spelling (Escrita)

To see properly the content of this page you must have installed the Times NR Phonetic true type font on your system.

As mentioned, Galician uses six digraphs: ch, gu, ll, nh, qu and rr; qu and gu are used only followed by vowels e and i.

As spelling symbols, the acute stress symbol (´) and the diaeresis (¨) are also used.

The letter h, when it does not occur in digraphs ch and nh, is mute, i.e., it does not represent any phoneme. In spelling it can have a diacritic value or serve the purpose of distinguishing pairs such as

Letter r represents phoneme [ò] when it is in initial position (rápido) or in medial position preceded by letters s (Israel) and n (tenro tender).

When it occurs in intervocalic medial position it represents phoneme [r]:

The digraph rr represents, when it is in intervocalic medial position, phoneme [ò]: Letter x can represent phoneme [S], as in xente people; or the sequence of phonemes [ks], as in exacto, exact.

The digraph nh represents phoneme [M] in intervocalic position, as in unha a (fem.).

The acute accent (´) is used to stress syllables following certain rules:

Sometimes it is also used to differentiate formally identical words.


Galician Desriptive Grammar
Galician Main Page

Modern Romance Languages Main Page
Orbis Latinus Main Page

This page is part of Orbis Latinus
© Zdravko Batzarov